1/19/2017: The End of an Era

Two eras, actually.

aubrey_corker
Aubrey with Senator Corker

First, this was our last day at work. It was “very sentimental” according to Josephine, who stayed an hour late to say all her goodbyes. Carmon’s host at the NIH cried during their parting, and Rachel received a teddy bear as a farewell gift. The interns at Senator Corker’s office received a personal thank you from him. For my part, I’ve resolved to return to the NIH. I don’t have plans for when or how specifically. I just know I’m going to do it.

Of course, our last day wasn’t only farewells. The Capitol Hill interns were busy handing out inauguration tickets to lines that went out the door. Avery visited the national arboretum while Sophia ran around the city interviewing protesters. What a way to go out.

obama_outThe second end of an era is of course Obama’s last day in office. Regardless of political affiliation, we have all grown up with him as president, and this change is enormous to us. So goodbye, Obama. I didn’t always agree with you on every policy, but you did your best for this country, and I respect you immensely. I’ll miss you.

sophia_protesters
Sophia interviewed protesters around the city

 

The reality that tomorrow Trump will be president is something I can’t quite comprehend, even now. The city is brimming with tension. There were Trump supporters spouting white supremacy speeches on the metro, and anti-Trump protesters spilling onto the streets. There are practically battalions of police on every corner.

Meanwhile, Lia and Congressman Cooper’s office came through and got everyone tickets to the inauguration, so we’ll all be watching that good ol’ peaceful transfer of power tomorrow.

Today was the end of both our internships and a presidential administration. Whatever the new era holds, I can assure you: the Harpeth Hall girls will be ready for it.

-Maya Misra


Leave a comment